City & Guilds Level 5 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice

Affiliation: City and Guilds
Duration: 730 days

Course Aim:

To provide a high level, internationally recognized professional HSE practitioner qualification based on demonstrated workplace practice and achievement that can lead to Chartered Membership of the Institution of Occupational Safety & Health (CMIOSH). 

Course Content:

HSP1 comprising: Unit H2 – Promote a positive health & safety culture Unit H3 – Develop & implement the health & safety policy Unit H4 – Develop & implement effective communication systems for H&S information Unit H5 – Develop & maintain individual & organizational competence in H&S matters Unit H6 – Identify & evaluate health & safety hazards Unit H7 – Assess health & safety risks Unit H8 – Determine & implement health & safety risk control measures Unit H9 – Develop & & active monitoring systems for health & safety Unit H10 -Develop & implement reactive monitoring systems for health & safety Unit H11 -Develop & implement health & safety emergency response systems & procedures Unit H12 -Develop & implement health & safety review systems Unit H13 -Develop & implement health & safety audit systems HSP2 which requires additional Level 5 evidence in the same topic areas over Level 4. 

Who Should Attend?

Level 2 HSE Trainers, Facilitators & Assessors, HSE Training Managers & HSE Training Assessment Managers who do not hold a NEBOSH Diploma in OSH, wishing to be Approved by PDO 

Pre- Requisites 

  • (ORT) HSE Orientation 
  • HSE Leadership for 
  • NEBOSH International Certificate or NVQ3OSH


As determined and controlled by the specific NVQ Awarding body. There are no formal examinations. Observation evidence, by a nominated NVQ assessor, of the candidate’s practitioner skills being applied in the candidate’s own workplace. Documentary evidence portfolio (which may be in Arabic and translated to English) providing a totality of evidence of skills application which is current, appropriate, relevant and sufficient to meet the requirements of each Unit in the award, as determined by the nominated assessor